Password Security

A copy of your encryption keys are kept on the BuddyBackup server. This is so that when you recover a lost account, the keys can be securely sent to you to enable you to recover your files.

These keys are encrypted on your password so that not even members of the BuddyBackup team can access the keys.

A copy of your password may also be saved securely on the BuddyBackup server. This is so that if you forget your password, the BuddyBackup server can send you a password reminder.

For increased security, you can choose to disable this feature, and remove your password from the BuddyBackup server

Read our Privacy Statement.

Important

If you choose to remove your password from the BuddyBackup server, then you will not be able to ask for a password reminder.

In that case, if you forget your password the BuddyBackup team will not be able to provide your password nor reset your encryption keys and you will not be able to recover any of your files.

If you remove the password from the servers, please ensure you memorise or securely store your password.

There are two ways of removing your password from the server:

If you have not set up your account yet:

  1. When you are setting up BuddyBackup, you will be shown the following screen. Screen-shot of BuddyBackup setup screen
  2. Untick Save my password on the BuddyBackup server

If you have already setup your account:

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Options
  3. Click User
  4. Click Change Password
  5. Enter your old password in all three boxes
  6. Untick Save my password on the BuddyBackup server
  7. Click Change Password

The password will be immediately removed from the BuddyBackup server.

BuddyBackup's intuitive interface and ground breaking feature set make this one of the most important pieces of free software to grace our desks for a long time.

- 5 Stars