Import and Export

Normally, backing up and restoring is done over the internet. This can take some time if you have a large amount of data to backup.

Alternatively, you can speed up the backup process by using a USB drive (or other removable storage) to quickly pass data to/from your buddies.

This works by saving your backups onto the USB/removable drive. You can then pass this to your buddy who can load them onto his computer. When this is done, your buddy gives you the USB drive back, and you can delete the files from the USB drive.

After the export, BuddyBackup behaves just as if they were backed up in the normal manner over the internet.

You can also quickly restore files back again: your buddy can export your backups onto the drive and pass it back to you. You can then restore your files from the drive.

In both cases, your files are encrypted before saving onto the drive. This means they’re safe even if your drive is lost or stolen.

Speeding up Backups using Export

To speed up your backups:

(On your computer)

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Make sure the buddies you intend to export to have been added as normal (see Adding Buddies)
  3. Click Tools, Import/Export
  4. Choose I want to backup my data. Press Next
  5. Insert your USB drive
  6. Press Finish
  7. Press Next
  8. Select the USB drive. Press Next
  9. Press Finish
  10. Give the USB drive to your buddy(s)

When your buddy(s) get the drive, they should insert it into their PC. BuddyBackup should prompt them to import the data. If this doesn’t happen, they should do the following:

(On your buddies’ computer)

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Import/Export
  3. Choose I'm helping a Buddy backup/restore.
  4. Click Next
  5. Choose My Buddy has given me a USB/removable drive containing their backups
  6. Press Next and then Finish
  7. The USB drive should automatically appear in the white box. Make sure it is ticked and press Import.
  8.  If it doesn’t appear, find it manually by clicking Add Another Location
  9. Press Import Backups

Once this is done, a message will be sent automatically to your copy of BuddyBackup to show that the files are backed up onto your buddy.

You can pass the USB drive to as many buddies as you want.

When you get the USB drive back again from your buddy(s) you can safely delete the files at E:\BuddyBackup\username (where E: is the drive and username is your BuddyBackup username).

Important

Make sure that whoever you give backups to in this manner is also added as a buddy before you do the export (see Adding Buddies). If a friend imports the data, but you haven’t added them as a buddy, BuddyBackup won’t know they’ve got your data.

So add them as a buddy and then do the export

Speeding up Restoring using Import

To speed up restoring data, first you need to ask your buddy to “Export” your backups. To do this they must do the following:

(On your buddies’ computer)

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Import/Export
  3. Choose I'm helping a Buddy backup/restore.
  4. Click Next
  5. Choose My Buddy is restoring their data...
  6. Press Next and then Finish
  7. Choose (click) the username of the buddy who wants their backups
  8. Press OK
  9. Press Next
  10. Select the USB drive. Press Next
  11. Press Finish

Once you have the USB drive containing your backups again, do the following:

(On your computer)

  1. Open the BuddyBackup control panel (see here)
  2. Click Tools, Import/Export
  3. Choose I want to restore my data.
  4. Click Next
  5. Choose I have received a USB/removable drive...
  6. Click Next
  7. Click Finish
  8. The USB drive should automatically appear in the white box. Make sure it is ticked and press Import.
  9. If it doesn’t appear, find it manually by clicking Add Another Location
  10. Press Import Backups
  11. You will now see a special buddy appear called "Import Location". This represents the backups located on the USB drive.
  12. You can now restore files as normal (see Restoring Files). BuddyBackup will use this drive just as it would any other buddy when restoring backups.

Important

Leave the USB drive connected while you’re restoring files. You can safely remove it when you’ve finished restoring files.

The special "Import Location" buddy will disappear automatically when you restart. You can re-add it again by repeating the above steps.

Once you’ve restored your backups, you can safely delete the files at E:\BuddyBackup\username (where E: is the drive and username is your BuddyBackup username).

Your backups will still remain on your buddy as normal, even once you’ve finished with the USB drive.

BuddyBackup's intuitive interface and ground breaking feature set make this one of the most important pieces of free software to grace our desks for a long time.

- 5 Stars